Newaygo Brewing Co. – Newaygo – Michigan

You sit across from me debating which brew to order, neither of us are quite sure, so we test a few while scanning the two sided taproom menu, before committing. This is your kind of place, you say. Good food, beer, and nice people.

fullsizeoutput_105b

While you yak it up, I am lost in the aesthetics of urban saloon; wooden booths, original wood floor and exposed ceilings, brick wall, and urban soft lighting as we collaboratively decide on food and put in the order.

We start with the Bruschetta, a baked baguette topped with chopped tomatoes, basil, oil and drizzled with balsamic vinegar reduction. The serving is just enough to wet the appetite for the four of us. Eye that last bite, it’s pushed in front of me, little Miss Bottomless Pit. Without hesitating, I take the bread and drag it over the balsamic, mopping what’s left from the plate.

Long into our drinks, Drinkin Buddy for the table and Blueberry/Apple Hard Cider for me, our “farm-to-table artisan,” Mediterranean Pizzas arrive, hot and oozing with goodness and of course to my delight, more balsamic vinegar reduction! Cooked to perfection we devour carbs, once slice after another, mouth stuffed, yet still consuming seasoned chicken, spinach, tomatoes, avocado, red onion, feta, and black olives.

IMG_2072.JPG

Then just when I think I’m done and should have worn my stretchy pants, I could not resist, letting the waiter entice two of us with dessert; an order of Homemade Carrot Cake and Key Lime Pot de Cremé, with three additional spoons.

Our desserts arrive when we are in the thick of a historical conversation intrigued by the rich history of this old building. I question the peculiar nobs in the ceiling boards. You, a history buff of your hometown, Newaygo, MI, come quick with a response for the knob-and-tube wiring that was once used in earlier days.

The Homemade Carrot Cake and Key Lime Pot de Cremé look delicious and very appearing to the eye. “Want a bite?” as the plate slides my way. “No,” I refuse as I scoop a mouse like texture of my key lime with the perfect hint of tart, then bite into my graham cracker, which was a little hard for my liking. “You wanna take a picture?” the plate still lingering on my side of the table. “Yes, before you devour it” I reply, while passing out spoons to curious eyes looking at the yummy desserts and we all enjoy our last bites and licks of the Newaygo Brewing Co.

Mid week is a good time to grab dinner at the brewery, from order to delivery, the food was fast, professional, drinks flowing, and customer service outstanding. Prices weren’t too bad; it’s no buffet, so remember that when you’re trading your cash in for their awesome food and ambiance.

So, what are you having for dinner tonight?

Newaygo Brewing Co. located at: 19 State Rd., Newaygo, MI 49337
(231) 452-6551

Mon–Thu: 11am–10pm
Fri–Sat: 11am–11pm
Sunday: 12pm–10pm

http://www.newaygobrewing.com

(farm-to-table artisan, Newaygo Brewing Co website)

Leave a Reply

